Established in 1950, Central Districts Cricket Association is one of the six first-class cricket associations affiliated to New Zealand Cricket. 

CDCA represents a vast geographic area covering most of the lower half of the North Island and the top of the South Island. It is the only association to represent both the main islands, and is made up of eight District Associations – Hawke's Bay, Manawatū, Wairarapa, Horowhenua-Kāpiti, Whanganui, Taranaki, Nelson and Marlborough.

These eight Districts provide Community cricket — club and schools cricket, as well as junior development programmes within their region, while CDCA manages the framework and High Performance pathway that leads to Domestic and International representation.

CDCA fielded its first men’s representative team in the first-class Plunket Shield in 1950. The Central Hinds were established in 1979. In 1992, the former governing body of the women's game, the New Zealand Women’s Cricket Council, merged with NZC, bringing women’s and men's teams under the same administrative structure for the first time and further developing the pathway to representative honours.

Did you know?

Cricket has been played in the CDCA region for longer than anywhere else in New Zealand! Nelson occupies a special place in history as the site of both the first women’s match to be played in New Zealand - in 1886; and the first organised men’s match, in March 1844.

Brand, Content and Imagery Use

A little housekeeping. Please be advised that imagery on this website is copyright and used under commercial license, and may not be copied, downloaded or otherwise utilised for Editorial, Commercial or Advertising use by without the express written permission of the Right holder (s22 Copyright Act 1994).

No images may be stored, manipulated, distributed or altered in any way whether supplied as low or high resolution, unless otherwise specified, or licensed to do so.

The logos of Central Districts Cricket Association, Central Stags, Central Hinds are registered trademarks and the intellectual property of CDCA, and may not be used by any party without the prior written permission and approval of Central Districts Cricket Association.

The logo of the Central Districts Charitable Trust is used with the permission of CDCA and may not be used by any other party without the prior written permission and approval of Central Districts Cricket Association and the Central Districts Charitable Trust.