The very first NZC Māori Domestic cricket tournament for women was hosted by Central Districts at Cornwall Park in Heretaunga Hastings, Friday 13 to Sunday 15 October 2023, with CD Wāhine Māori becoming the inaugural national champions!

The team went through undefeated in the ground-breaking event for women, all in the fast-paced T20 format, with five teams from throughout Aotearoa New Zealand staying on two local marae and playing for the Rona McKenzie Taonga.


Central Hinds star GEORGIA ATKINSON Ngāti Kahungunu led from the front as she captained a strong CD Wāhine Māori squad for the inaugural Whakataetae Kirikiti Māori ā-Motu mō ngā Wāhine | NZC Māori women’s cricket nationals.

Atkinson was one of four capped Central Hinds in the first ever Wāhine squad, alongside player and assistant coach KERRY TOMLINSON Te Whānau a Apanui, Ngāti Porou, vice-captain OCEAN BARTLETT Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Porou and wicketkeeper-batter SAM MACKINDER Te Whānau-ā-Apanui.

Coached by CD Māori men's representative DUSTIN EMMS-HEALEY Kāi Tahu, Kāti Māmoe, Waitaha, the 12-strong team also featured a trio of 2022/23 CD Under 19 representatives.

Wairarapa teammates LIV CLARK Kai Tahu, MACY LYFORD Ngāti Kahungunu and Hawke’s Bay rep REESE DRAGER Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Kahungunu had all starred at last summer’s NZC Under 19 Nationals, finishing as national runners-up


Winners, NZC National Māori Women's Tournament

Cornwall Park, Heretaunga Hastings

13-15 October 2023

GEORGIA Atkinson Ngāti Kahungunu; kāpene | captain; Wairarapa

OCEAN Bartlett Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Porou; kāpene awhina | vice-captain; Wairarapa

INDIA Bartlett Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Porou; Wairarapa

OLIVIA Clark Kai Tahu; Wairarapa

REESE Drager Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Kahungunu; Hawke’s Bay

MADISON Greenaway Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Ngāti Hauā, Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāpuhi; Nelson

MACY Lyford Ngāti Kahungunu; Wairarapa

SAM Mackinder Te Whānau-ā-Apanui; Manawatū

OLIVIA McKnight Ngāti Porou; Hawke’s Bay

MOLLY Noema-Barnett Tūhoe; Manawatū

JASMINE O’Dell Te Whānau-ā-Apanui; Manawatū

KERRY Tomlinson Te Whānau a Apanui, Ngāti Porou; Hawke’s Bay

• Kaiwhakaako matua | Head Coach

DUSTIN Emms-Healey

Kāi Tahu, Kāti Māmoe, Waitaha; Nelson

• Kaiwhakaako awhina | Assistant Coach

KERRY Tomlinson

Te Whānau a Apanui, Ngāti Porou; Hawke’s Bay


The five teams in Heretaunga Hastings played for the new Rona McKenzie Taonga that commemorates a special cricketing pioneer from Ngāti Awa.

Born in Takapau, Hawke's Bay, Rona was the first Māori captain of the WHITE FERNS and had an inspirational and positive influence over many of her peers in the game.

Rona played seven Test matches for New Zealand, captaining all of them, as well as playing for Auckland.

She famously led the 1957 WHITE FERNS tour to England, the team travelling for a month by sea. With men's amd women's cricket run by separate administrations back then, the playing group had to raise their own funds, make their own uniforms, and organise their own accommodation.

Rona was appointed a Member of the Order of the British Empire in the 1975 New Year's Honours list for services to women's cricket, and passed away in 1999.

Te Tīmatanga

In 2022/23, the cricket summer ended on a high note with NZC's very first men's Māori Domestic cricket tournament, hosted by ND in Whangārei, Northland over Easter Weekend 2023. 

Five teams took part in the T20 round robin:

  • Tāmaki Makaurau Māori (Auckland Māori)
  • Northern Districts Māori
  • Central Districts Māori
  • Te Whanganui-a-Tara Māori
  • Te Waipounamu Māori (South Island Māori)

The latter three teams were all competing for the very first time, and CD Cricket was proud to support this empowering initiative and select our first ever Māori team!

CD was equally proud to see Central Stags alumnus Ali Alcock leading Cricket Wellington's team as the inaugural head coach and driving force behind our neighbours, Te Whanganui-a-Tara Māori.



CENTRAL DISTRICTS MĀORI took away some special memories from the inaugural men's tournament in Whangārei, won by Tāmaki Makaurau Māori

Although CD didn't get a win over the three days of competition, they steadily grew as a new group, and pushed the eventual champions hard in a tight result at Kensington Park on the final afternoon.

CD's style and depth of talent was reflected when two CD players were chosen in Te Tīma o te Whakataetae 2023 | Team of the Tournament, Horowhenua-Kāpiti pair ZACK BENTON and BAILEY TE TOMO. Ka rawe!


NZC National Māori Men's Tournament, Whangārei

7-9 April 2023

ZACK Benton  Ngāti Porou, Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāi Tahu; Horowhenua-Kāpiti

AIDAN Clark Ngāti Raukawa; Nelson

JARRED Cunningham Tūhoe; Taranaki

DUSTIN Emms-Healey Kāi Tahu, Kāti Māmoe, Waitaha;  Nelson

TAINE Halbert Ngāti Tūwharetoa; Horowhenua-Kāpiti

BAYLEY Latter Ngāti Toa;  Manawatū

RIAN Lyver Ngāti Toa, Ngāi Tahu; Horowhenua-Kāpiti

ANGUS McKnight Ngāti Porou; Hawke's Bay

JAMIE Marshall Ngāti Raukawa; Horowhenua-Kāpiti

CHARLIE Pawson Ngāti Kahungunu; Hawke's Bay

SAMUEL Payne Ngāti Kahungunu; Wairarapa

JEROME Robinson Ngāti Raukawa; Manawatū

BAILEY Te Tomo Ngāti Raukawa; Horowhenua-Kāpiti


Hayden Robinson Ngāti Raukawa

Manawatū Cricket Association


• Round One (Friday, 7 April 2023)

Northern Māori 128/8 (20) lost to Tāmaki Makaurau Māori 132/7 (19.4)

Te Whanganui-a-Tara 163/8 (20) beat Te Waipounamu 149/6 (20)

Bye: Central Districts Māori

• Round Two (Saturday, 8 April 2023)

Te Whanganui-a-Tara 184/3 (20) beat Central Districts Māori 117/8 (20)

Te Waipounamu 193/5 (20) beat Northern Māori 117 (16.2)

Bye: Tāmaki Makaurau Māori

• Round Three (Saturday, 8 April 2023)

Te Whanganui-a-Tara 187/7 (20) lost to Tāmaki Makaurau Māori 190/2 (17.5)

Central Districts Māori 101/9 (20) lost to Te Waipounamu 102/3 (12.2)

Bye: Northern Māori

• Round Four (Sunday, 9 April 2023)

Northern Māori 142/3 (18, match reduced to 18 overs) lost to Te Whanganui-a-Tara 148/7 (17.3)

Central Districts Māori 136/4 (18, match reduced to 18 overs) lost to Tāmaki Makaurau Māori 137/4 (17.3)

Bye: Te Waipounamu

• Round Five (Sunday, 9 April 2023)

Central Districts Māori 124/6 (16, match reduced to 16 overs) lost to Northern Māori 126/4 (14.1)

Te Waipounamu 95 (18, match reduced to 18 overs) lost to Tāmaki Makaurau Māori 98/0 (12.5)

Bye: Te Whanganui-a-Tara

NZC Māori National Tournament - Final Standings

1. Tāmaki Makaurau Māori (16 points, 4 wins)

2. Te Whanganui-a-Tara (12 points, 3 wins, 1 loss)

3. Te Waipounamu (8 points, 2 wins, 2 losses)

4. Northern Māori (4 points, 1 win, 3 losses)

5. Central Districts Māori (0 points, 4 losses)